GET IGNITED: Maya Penn-14 year old entrepreneur…

14 year old entrepreneur, philanthropist, designer, artist, animator, illustrator, and writer.

Image

ABOUT MAYA;

I am Maya Shea Penn. I’m a 14 year old entrepreneur, philanthropist, designer, artist, animator (I make animated short films), illustrator, and writer. I am the CEO of Maya’s Ideas, a company I started in 2008 when I was just 8 years old. I’m also really into technology! When I was about four years old my dad showed me how to take apart a computer and put it back together again, and that really started my love for technology. I’ve built my first website myself, and I’m learning JavaScript and HTML 5 so I’m really hands on in all aspects of my business. I create handmade artisan crafted one-of-a-kind eco-friendly accessories and clothing. I have been featured in Forbes, Huffington Post, Ebony, Redbook, FOX 5 Atlanta, Black Enterprise, Etsy.com,The NRDC, The Michael Baisden Show, and many other publications. My designs are sold all over the world and I have customers in Denmark, Italy, Australia and more. I love to use my creativity to give back to the community, and the environment and it’s creatures. 10-20% of my profits go to causes that I am passionate about like: Hosea Feed The Hungry, Atlanta Community Food Bank, The Ian Somerhalder Foundation ( I’m a member of their kids division and I write articles and add content/videos to their website.). I also write a column called Ask The Expert as a contributing writer for Livethrive.org.  I was honored as an entrepreneur at the 2012 SCLC Women’s 33rd Annual Drum Major for Justice Awards in the Youth Category. I was honored along with actor and Humanitarian Sean Penn, Actor Samuel L. Jackson and his wife Latanya Richardson, CNN News Anchor Don Lemon,Rev. Al Sharpton, Justice Robert Benham and Pulitzer Prize winner Isabel Wilkerson. I was panelist/speaker at the economic empowerment summit at Agnes Scott College that was being presented by the National Center for Civil and Human Rights for teen age girls. I also have a non-profit organization called Maya’s Ideas 4 The Planet.

Image

Read more about Maya here; www.mayasideas.com

Does this motivate you to do something? Do you have a dream? Have you found your purpose? Get started today. Like Maya, start as early as you can. Start something today!

Check back for more posts on teenagers doing what they love round the world. You might be the next.

Get Ignited!

CONTACT: Send your questions and contributions to representeens@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

